Amazing art

I popped into the Society of Marine Artists exhibition at the Mall Galleries, London, last week – there was a huge range of beautiful paintings but one artist particularly caught my eye, not only for the size and intricacy of his work but for the unusual and powerful subject matter.  Who else could have made an artwork out of a pile of fishing nets?  He’s called Gareth Brown and here is his Winched Nets painting (oil on canvas 70cm x 100cm approx)

Winched Nets  copyright Gareth Brown

Winched Nets copyright Gareth Brown

He also paints seaweed – and you can see where I got my insipiration for last weeks post from – I think they are incredible and I’m very grateful to him for allowing me to add them to my blog.

Channelled Wrack 111  copyright Gareth Brown

Channelled Wrack 111 copyright Gareth Brown

This entry was posted in Art, Nature, seashore; and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Amazing art

  1. These are absolutely beautiful, Celia. Thanks for sharing this. I always thought the British Isles have some amazing artists and printmakers.

  2. Pingback: Without a moment to spare and arbuts trees on the ridge | Creativepotager's Blog

  3. One of my favourite pieces in this always strong exhibition Celia, thank you for sharing this, I had forgot his name!

Leave a Reply

