Mermaid’s purses

I love beach-combing so all in the interest of research for my next book, An Illustrated Coastal Year, you understand, I went to the beach this weekend.  Its amazing what you can find but what I was most pleased with was a collection of mermaid’s purses.  These are the egg cases of skates, rays and dogfish and  I think the large black ones are Skates and the small ones Lesser Spotted Dogfish – let me know if I am wrong!!

Various mermaid's purses

Various mermaid’s purses

This entry was posted in Books, fascinatingfacts, Nature, Photography, seashore; and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mermaid’s purses

  1. Emma Lewis says:

    Beautiful and how exciting that we have a whole new book to look forward to!

  2. We had the black cases in Maine and always called them skates. Wonderful nature as always.

Leave a Reply

